Why I became a Scientologist

November 18, 2007 at 12:43 am (Church of Scientology, L. Ron Hubbard, Scientology) (, , , , , , )

Dignus Lavooy was inspired by an earlier article I posted to write how he became a Scientologist. Here is his story.

I got into Scientology in 1975, but the story starts long before I knew of its existence. I was born and raised in a rural village in the Netherlands, where helping the community, being active in clubs, attending church, etc., were still very much part of the way of life. It was the time when early rock & roll music had just been replaced on the top 40’s by the Beatles and the Rolling Stones. Newspapers were believed and TV was this new and fascinating medium with the silliest program dominating the schoolyard conversations the whole next day.

Growing up is a constant expansion of one’s sphere of awareness and as mine grew I started to ask more and more questions. The fact that inspirational politicians (Kennedy’s) and people whose message meant something to me (Martin Luther King and later John Lennon) were senselessly murdered did not fit with my view of how the world should run. Add Vietnam, which seemed so unnecessary, an arms race that was out of control and the messages about the planet’s energy resources running out and I seriously doubted that I (or for that matter, anyone else) could be happy or live long. Things just did not make sense and I began to think there was something seriously wrong with me. It was only later that I understood that you can’t make sense out of an insane act. If I got anything from experiencing that era, it was to be on the lookout for something that would shed some light into the darker corners of existence. My school buddies, though they very much agreed that society was crazy… .

read more | digg story

Leave a Reply

